Scary Halloween Phish Attempt
It’s funny that I received this on Halloween, because when I first read the thing, it scared the shit out of me:
Subject: Inaccurate WHOIS Information [Incident: 69329]
Dear user,
On Fri, 31 Oct 2008 22:54:57 +0300 we received a third party complaint of invalid domain contact information in the Whois database for this domain Whenever we receive a complaint, we are required by ICANN regulations to initiate an investigation as to whether the contact data displaying in the Whois database is valid data or not. If we find that there is invalid or missing data, we contact both the registrant and the account holder and inform them to update the information.
The contact information for the domain which displayed in the Whois database was indeed invalid. On Fri, 31 Oct 2008 22:54:57 +0300 we sent a notice to you at the admin/tech contact email address and the account email address informing you of invalid data in breach of the domain registration agreement and advising you to update the information or risk cancellation of the domain. The contact information was not updated within the specified period of time and we canceled the domain. The domain has subsequently been purchased by another party. You will need to contact them for any further inquiries regarding the domain.
PLEASE VERIFY YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION – http://www.enom.com
If you find any invalid contact information for this domain, please respond to this email with evidence of the specific contact information you have found to be invalid on the Whois record for the domain name. Examples would be a bounced email or returned postal mail. If you have a bounced email, please attach or forward with your reply or in the case of returned postal mail, scan the returned letter and attach to your email reply or please send it to:
Attn: Domain Services 14455 N Hayden Rd Suite 219 Scottsdale, AZ 85260
LINK TO CHANGE INFORMATION – http://www.enom.com
Thank you,
Domain Services
They had me for a second but then I noticed that the links for “enom.com” go to a .BIZ domain instead of enom.com. They also sent the notice to an email address that is in no-way connected with my domain registration. And oh, i’ve never done business with eNom.com. But it still had me worried for some strange reason and I nearly fell for it..
The people at the real eNom.com are aware of this phish attempt and have a big warning right on their homepage kudos to them.
Don’t go clicking links before you know where they go because you never know where those links have been.. Almost getting phished is scary.. Actually getting phished, and giving away your domain is even scarier..





