Learn Success With Randy Brown

Do it right the first time, stoopit.

Is eHarmoney Scraping YOUR Site?

Today as I was going through my daily duty of banning scraper IP’s that were systematically crawling pages or downloading my sitemap, I came across one IP that stood out. 

A quick WHOIS revealed this:
OrgName: eHarmony.com
OrgID: EHARM

NetRange: 204.16.72.0 – 204.16.75.255
CIDR: 204.16.72.0/22
OriginAS: AS23112, AS36793
NetName: EHARMONY-COM
NetHandle: NET-204-16-72-0-1
Parent: NET-204-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Assignment
NameServer: NS1.EHARMONY.COM
NameServer: NS2.EHARMONY.COM
Comment:
RegDate: 2005-10-21
Updated: 2008-07-08

Why would eHarmony be downloading sitemaps from other websites?  Last time I looked eHarmoney did not have it’s own web-search, so why?

I don’t know the answer, so if you know please post a comment.

Categories: Security
Mustafa (1 comments)

Perhaps they were harvesting lead information, like your commenters’ names and email addresses.. Just a thought..

22 December 08 at 16:59
Randy Brown (119 comments)

Mustafa said:



Perhaps they were harvesting lead information, like your commenters’ names and email addresses.. Just a thought..



That was one of my fears – how low is that? One would think that a big company like eHarmony would not resort to spamming.

23 December 08 at 08:41